Pregnancy Update; the good, the bad, and the concerning

I am officially 22 weeks pregnant, that’s crazy. I’ve been feeling much better though! My hormones are starting to level off a little bit, I don’t feel sick nearly as often, and I can still kinda lay on my stomach. My siatic nerve in my left hip has been bothering me the past couple weeks, but I was able to stretch it out yesterday and I guess popped it? Any who, I’ll get to the more interesting stuff now.

I had an ultrasound a few days ago and everything looked good, from what I could tell. Just comparing what I saw from my first pregnancy, everything looked pretty normal. The ultrasound tech wouldn’t allow me to record or photograph anything for some reason, which I wanted to do because my husband couldn’t be there.

The following day I got a call from my doctor first thing in the morning. She told me the baby’s nuchal fold was measuring thick (neck thickness) which isn’t good. I asked her what that would mean and she said it’s a possible indication for down syndrome. Despite coming up negative in the blood test for down syndrome and not seeing any other possible signs in my early ultrasound, she still felt it necessary to go in for genetic counseling and screening as well as a follow-up ultrasound. She had me write down the number to call in 48 hours (which is actually today) to make an appointment. When I got off the phone, it hit me. I realized what this could mean and I went to google to try to learn more.

Big mistake. Never go to google. Now I know the nuchal fold measuring thick could also be an indication of other congenital diseases and I had to put the lap top down. 

I started panicking and crying and worrying. I couldn’t get ahold of my husband because he had just got relieved from duty and he was heading over to work. All the people I’d want to talk to about this live on the opposite coast or out of reach at the moment.

Let me make one thing clear, I will still love her no matter what disease or condition she has. I wasn’t worried about down syndrome, I was worried about something worse. 

I turned to my mommy groups on Facebook and got a mix of judgement and support. The mom’s of children with down syndrome took it as me not wanting a DS baby, which isn’t the case. No one wishes their child has a condition, of course, but it doesn’t change how I feel about her. I’m only worried she is going to have a battle against cancer with surgeries or worse.

Finally, 2 hours later I got a call back from my husband and I told him what was going on. He said he would try to come home early so we could talk about everything. Luckily, while he was at work he talked to a friend of his who has a daughter with DS and he shared their experience. He put things into perspective for us and really made us feel better about the whole situation. 

With only the little bit of information we have, their is no reason to panic. Her neck measured thick, that could be anything. It could have been a false read, it could just mean she’s big, it could mean she is a little ball of love with down syndrome. We don’t know, so all we can do is be patient and wait to find out.
If you have been through something similar, I would love to hear your story! I plan on keeping my blog updated to help anyone who might be through something like this and for those with curious minds. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

