Diaper Rash Woes

Man, does it suck when your baby has a diaper rash. Even when you are prompt with changing even the cleanest of diapers, sometimes you feel like you just can’t get ahead of it.

My son has a very sensitive booty and before I learned this trick, his poor bottom was so bad it had open sores. That’s not okay.

So I shared with my mom the problem and she told me the SIMPLEST trick. It’s a life changer! Bag Balm. The stuff you’re grandmother uses as chap stick in the metal can. I read the ingredients and one of the ones listed is lanolin, the same stuff they make for chapped milk makers! Oh my gosh, it made a world of difference… but it wasn’t quite enough!

1481145769289381383865

I remembered something I read in a book back in middle school. I can not remember the book for the life of me, but it talked about rubbing salt in wounds to speed up the healing. Before you jump to conclusions; NO I DID NOT RUB SALT ON HIS BUTT.

This works for Liam overnight. I will squirt a little bit of Burt’s bees lavender baby soap into the bath water with a hand full of epsom salt. Don’t scrub the affected area and just wash the waist up. After baby gets out of the bath allow a few minutes of time to air dry (Pat dry diaper area if necessary) and then liberally apply the bag balm to your baby’s butt. By morning, the rash should be completely gone or mostly.

If you try this out and it works for you, let me know and spread the good word!

Thanks for reading and good luck!

Leave a Reply

